Monday, March 21, 2011

The New Cars

The New Cars was a band formed in 2005 with just two of the original members of the 1970s/1980s new wave band The Cars. The band was composed of Todd Rundgren, drummer Prairie Prince, Kasim Sulton, and original Cars members Greg Hawkes and Elliot Easton. The band performed The Cars' classic songs, Rundgren's solo work, and some new material.

The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars The New Cars

Though no formal announcement has been made with regards to the current status of The New Cars, they would appear to be defunct. Rundgren has resumed his solo career, and The New Cars have not performed any shows since September of 2007. On October 21, 2010, The Cars (Easton, Hawkes, Ric Ocasek and David Robinson) confirmed that they have reunited and are recording their first album in 23 years. Meanwhile, The New Cars' official website was maintained until early 2010, but now appears to have been shut down.


Automotive Car. Powered by Blogger.
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Favorites More